View of a Resident

“ I came to the nursing home because of hip replacement. Before I came here I lived on my own and did not require any help. It’s nice to be here and know that there are people around to help me [CNA’s] but it gets hard because I know that I have to follow certain rules around here such as not getting up to go potty on my own. That’s one of the hardest rules to follow because sometimes it takes quite a long time for someone to finally come into the room to help me and at that point it’s too late. Everything here is different than at home, I have dinner at a different time, I have to go to bed at a different time, and I get woken up at all hours of the night because I have a roommate here.

 

If I had the chance to recover from my surgery at home, you bet your bottom I would do it. It would be more helpful if there were only one person to help me, it would be a lot easier to remember their name! I think it could better for me to recover at home too because I’m used to how my home is and after I leave here I will have to readjust at home which makes me quite nervous since I’ve been living here for the past month. Physical Therapy helps me during the week to try to get me ready to go home, but there’s going to be a big difference between doing a small task in front of them [PT] and doing a different task for the first time alone at my home. That’s something that makes me nervous, because I don’t want to fall and hurt myself again. But yeah, I guess if I had a choice of where I would rather be, I would have to choose at home, not that I don’t like it here, but it’s hard to have to leave the only house you’ve ever known for the first time. Sometimes I’m scared that I won’t be able to make it back there.”

View of a Resident

Leave a Reply

